So, I don’t know if you heard but…I left New York. #sarcasm Literally everyone and their dog heard about it because I would not shut up about it. With a dozen instagrams, blog posts, and various updates I was desperate to have my feelings validated and thirsty for my years to be memorialized. And you’re probably now wondering another one, Shelby? How do you have anything left to say? Well, you’re about to find out.

I’m sitting here in my new private apartment with central air and fluffy carpet, my queen size bed has been delivered and I just put a load of wash in. It’s a lot of new stuff to be excited by and about and I’m happy to be here obviously. But mostly I’m pouring over polaroids and pictures, wondering how best to bring New York into this new home. Because I just can’t let go. In a way, NYC is my horcrux–I mean, I didn’t murder anyone but I definitely left a piece of myself there.

I think of Andy Bernard at the end of The Office when he said “I wish there was a way to know you were in the good old days before you’ve actually left them.” And you know what? I know my life will hold so much more, so much good, so many wonderful memories…but I also know those will always be some of the good old days. I’ll forever be grateful for the role New York has had in my life. It will always hold a piece of my heart and I will always carry a torch for it.

I look back at my three years there and I think…thank god for all that. Because they have been some of the best and brightest years of my life. And I owe it to all the friends and experiences and moments too many to capture. The reality is there are simply no words for a city that has meant so much to me.

So…how about a video?

Come on. You all new it was coming.

One thought on “FINAL NEW YORK POST I SWEAR

Leave a Reply

