How to Vegetable

In the spirit of transparency I have to admit there’s a new obsession in my life. One that doesn’t start with “Taylor” and end with “‘s clothes are life.” It’s not even about donuts. Or one of the 35 dogs I follow on instagram (more on that later). But it is about food (a constant obsession in my life).

See, have you met my good friend the spiralizer?

tri_blade_2

I bought one back in January after a few weeks wondering about it and thinking about it and considering it. But I got one fairly impulsively (treat yo’self) and it’s changed my life. You take any vegetable – squash, zucchini, potatoes, yams, beets, carrots, even apples – and turn it into noodles. Pretty, spirally noodles of various sizes and shapes! Basically it’s like that play dough kitchen tool for adults. You get to play with your food and eat it too! #seriouslysoblessed

Honestly tho. It’s revolutionized my eating game. I used to eat so much pasta and I always felt so stuffed. But noooow I can make whatever I want and pour it over noodles. Mexican stir fry? Sweet potato noodles. Artichokes and hummus? Zucchini noodles. Red sauce and sausage? Squash noodles.

It’s about as amazing as it sounds. Or even better, if you think it sounds lame. Point is, it’s the greatest invention since sliced bread–whatever that means. I am a convert. A believer. And I feel the need to constantly evangelize. Like, I find ways to work it into conversation.

Him: I couldn’t get tickets to Hamilton so what’s even the point?

Me: But…have you ever spiralized?

Her: I could really go for some french fries rn.

Me: Did you know you can even spiralize a sweet potato? CURLY FRIES!

Ask my roommates or my coworkers; I don’t know how to not talk about it. And it actually makes me stoked to make dinner, to eat vegetables, to pack lunches. Because that’s just my life now. It’s like a real-life veggie tales.

But real reason I like this? I can top it with anything I want guilt free. I’m not stuffed full, I’m satisfied. And not that I’m into calorie counting, but it really makes that cookie at lunch and that ice cream at dinner that much easier to justify. And that, my friends, is a good place to be.

P.S. This is not a sponsored post. #livelifespiralized

Leave a Reply

